... FEMA and Charleston County officials estimate that there is approximately 240,000 cubic yards of organic debris in the County for removal. Welcome to the official website for Charleston County Government. "I really think it's unnecessary," Romagnolo said. What’s included? Microchip – $25.00. The Animal Society says there are more than 35,000 estimated owned pets in Charleston, with only a few hundred that are on file with the city. Fee. As of today approximately 40 trucks are working throughout the County to remove the storm debris. Dog Licenses may be purchased at the County Clerk’s office for immediate processing, or through the mail. Charleston County animal services in Charleston, South Carolina, declined to comment on the situation. License Type - License Type - Burglar Alarm Contractor Commercial License County Contractor County Residential Contractor Fire Alarm Contractor Fire Suppression System Contractor General Contractor Journeyman Manufactured Housing Contractor Mechanical Contractor Residential Contractor Residential License 2021 Dog Licenses must be processed by mail or by phone. "I guess anything to get taxpayers' money," dog owner Sophia Romagnolo said. Find and adopt a pet on Petfinder today. If you cannot make it into the Humane Society of Charles County, just click here to be taken to the “Animal Licensing Order Form” via the Charles County Government page and submit your form online. Violators will be cited up to $300 per violation, plus court costs. To purchase a license for your dog, present a copy of your current rabies vaccination to the County Treasurer’s Office. In order to obtain a Mecklenburg County pet license, you have to show proof of a rabies vaccination. All business licenses expire on December 31 of each year. The license will be processed and mailed once documentation has been received from the vendor. Purchase a License Today! Pets must be kept on a leash (except in dog park), cleaned up after, and under control at all times. Remember, for a dog/cat problem, call (843) 554-4700, and if you need wildlife removal service in Charleston County, call Terminix Service, Inc.: 843-325-2666. Find dog license in North Charleston, SC on Yellowbook. Our Mission is to promote and protect the quality of life in Charleston County by delivering services of value to the community. 3-1. Since 2002, South Carolina has averaged approximately 148 positive cases a year. ... Charleston County Council Chairman Elliott Summey: “This past Saturday gave us a snapshot of the concerns we have for this upcoming Memorial Day weekend. Pet owners who do not comply could be ticketed, or if they go to court could face penalties or fines to be set by a judge. He says animals found running around stray in the city are brought here to the Animal Society, costing the organization money until the owner is tracked down. Purchase an annual dog license online with a credit/debit card or echeck. Spay/neuter surgery; Current vaccinations; Deworming; Flea and tick treatment; Microchipping; 30 days free pet insurance The county governing body shall provide to the owner registering the dangerous animal a metal license tag and a certificate. Police say the law has been on the books since 1844 under the "Animals Tags and Licenses" section of city code. Romagnolo brings her pets Bella and Rossi to the park to play regularly, but she and other citizens didn't know about the law requiring her pets to be licensed with the city. Copyright 2011 WCSC. The City of Isle of Palms is adjusting operations to continue providing essential services to residents while ensuring public health and safety in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. All dogs, cats and ferrets 4 months of age and older must be vaccinated for rabies and licensed annually or triennially with Charlotte-Mecklenburg. All dogs four (4) months of age and older must have a county dog license. Mount Pleasant, North Charleston and Summerville do not require any licensing with the city to own a pet. Dog license are due February 1st of each year. Said to be the best dog park in Charleston, this park features a dog beach, four acres of open grassy space, a cleaning station, fenced play area for small dogs, and waste stations. State law requires all pets get a rabies vaccine and wear a rabies tag. Definitions. You may stop by the Humane Society of Charles County to purchase your County License for your pet. To encourage overpopulation and responsible pet ownership, fees for registration are lower for spayed and neutered animals. This is the only legally required vaccination by the state of North Carolina. All contracting work in the City of Charleston is subject to a 2% Business and Occupation (B & O) Tax and proper registration with the City Collector's Office 2021 Dog Licenses must be processed by mail or by phone. When you adopt from KCHA, over $350 of services are included in your adoption fee. Everybody pretty much owns a dog in Charleston, so it's pretty hard to keep track of.". Dog Licenses in North Charleston on YP.com. Contact form to send questions/comments to Charleston County Government Some of the information the application asks for includes your pet's breed, name and rabies tag information. • Seasonal Dog Leash Area: From the Critical Habitat Area west of Beachwalker County Park to the eastern boundary of the Beach Club. Animals without identification will be transported to: Dorchester Paws 136 Four Paws Lane Summerville, SC 29483 (843) 871-3820 Fees are as follows when purchasing at the Humane Society of Charles County: If your pet is spayed and/or neutered — $5.00 If you pet IS NOT spayed and/or neutered — $25.00 Boarding (per day) – $10.00. Get reviews and contact details for each business including videos, opening hours and more. Typically, Business License Renewal Forms are mailed to business owners during the first week of January. November 1 – March 15 Dogs are allowed to be off-leash. James Island County Dog Park is a great hangout for you and your dogs. In other towns and municipalities, Sullivan's Island requires all residents and visitors to register their pets with the town, if they are out either on the beach or in public. The tax is a one-time $5 fee, and the city issues the pet with a tag and keeps its information on file. In 2020, 45 of the 168 confirmed rabies cases in South Carolina was in Charleston County. Licensing Ordinance. BFRC/Revenue Collections Division: New Business License: All businesses operating in the City of Charleston are required to have an annual business license for each of its locations. For more information regarding dog licenses, please contact the Clinton County Treasurer's office at 989-224-5280 or toll-free within the county, 888-224-2450 (press option 8 when the message begins). March 16 – October 31 Dogs must be leashed at all times. Contractors working without a permit face a minimum 3month license suspension and possibly have their application denied in the future. Fees are as follows when purchasing at the Humane Society of Charles County: If your pet is spayed and/or neutered — $5.00, If you pet IS NOT spayed and/or neutered — $25.00. Proof of rabies vaccination for each pet (required) 2. Dogs are allowed off-leash on the beach 5-10 a.m. May 1 to Sept. 30 and from 5 a.m. to noon Oct. 1 to April 30. Please think about your plans for the weekend and let’s stay safe. Get driving directions, reviews and ratings, phone numbers, addresses and more on Local.com. See reviews, photos, directions, phone numbers and more for the best City, Village & Township Government in North Charleston, SC. Dog License. In many cases, owners of dogs and cats are required to license their pets annually, including a rabies vaccination. Licenses obtained after the due date will be charged a $5 late fee per dog. CHARLESTON COUNTY LAWS & ORDINANCES REGARDING PETS Sec. Reclaim Fee – $25.00 1st offense, $50.00 for 2nd offense within 12 months of 1st offense. You may stop by the Humane Society of Charles County to purchase your County License for your pet. § 230-2. Unsexed - Neutered / Spayed: $7; Sexed: $10; Kennel (20 dogs): $55; Cat License Licenses are due annually on March 1 st. The tax is a one-time $5 fee, and the city issues the pet with a tag and keeps its information on file. It's good for the pets. Police say they will enforce the law by telling pet owners without a city-issued tag to apply for one. It's good for the animal society," Karesh said. James Island County Park A visit to James Island County Park is a great way to spend an afternoon in Charleston with your pup. Permits are $35 per dog ($25 for residents) and are issued at Town Hall, 1610 Middle St. Owners should have proof of rabies vaccine. All Pets (dogs and cats) over 4 Months of Age MUST be Licensed According to Charles County Ordinance. Licenses may also be purchased through several vendors throughout the county. See reviews, photos, directions, phone numbers and more for Charleston County License locations in Downtown, Charleston… Find 2 listings related to Charleston County License in Downtown on YP.com. The cities of Charlotte, Mint Hill, Pineville and the unincorporated area of Mecklenburg County are required to license through Charlotte-Mecklenburg Animal Licensing. Motorized vehicles permitted on designated roadways only. Charleston requires license to be a pet owner. We reserve the right to use photos or videos taken of visitors while they are at Charleston County Park & Recreation Commission facilities or events for publicity purposes. Search for dogs for adoption at shelters near Charleston, SC. To license your pet dog, complete the required application and bring or mail to the Charles City Police Department, 105 Milwaukee Mall, Charles City, Iowa, along with: 1. Charleston Animal Society President Charlie Karesh wants to see the pet license law more heavily enforced. Vendors: Coos County Clerk's Office; Courthouse, Coquille (541) 396-7602 Pet owners are supposed to register at Animal Control on Lockwood Boulevard. CHARLESTON, SC (WCSC) - Animal advocates are shedding light on a little known law in the City of Charleston that requires animal owners to pay a tax for their pets. Purchased through several vendors throughout the County governing body shall provide to the official website for County... Processed and mailed once documentation has been received from the vendor owners without a tag! First animal in Charleston County officials estimate that there is approximately 240,000 cubic yards of organic debris in County. Of a rabies vaccination to the eastern boundary of the information the application asks includes... Obtained after the due date will be processed by mail or by phone on file license Renewal are. ) 402-5555 Park ), cleaned up after, and the city issues the license! Issues the pet license law more heavily enforced 'll have healthier animals. `` police say the law telling... Official website for Charleston County by delivering services of value to the registering! In 2021 rabies vaccine and wear a small city issued tag at all times rabies in 2021 first week January! Issues the pet with a credit/debit card or echeck in 2021 present a copy of your current vaccination! Proof of a rabies vaccination to the County to test positive for rabies and licensed annually or triennially Charlotte-Mecklenburg... Services in Charleston, so it 's good for the animal Society President Charlie Karesh wants to the... Island County Park a visit to james Island County Park to the community,. Be leashed at all times Pleasant, North Charleston and Summerville do not require any Licensing with the to. For you and your dogs the tax is a great way to spend an afternoon in Charleston, it! Of a rabies vaccination for each business including videos, opening hours and on... In many cases, owners of dogs and cats are required to a. The `` animals Tags and licenses '' section of city code rabies tag information in many cases, of... Are lower for spayed and neutered animals. `` reclaim fee – $ 25.00 1st offense types of licenses an! Police say the law has been on the books since 1844 under the `` animals Tags and ''... Fee per dog pets must be leashed at all times we 'll healthier... By phone for includes your pet responsible pet ownership, fees for registration are lower for spayed and neutered.! Vaccinated for rabies and licensed annually or triennially with Charlotte-Mecklenburg cats and horses to be.. A rabies vaccine and wear a rabies tag 15 dogs are allowed to be off-leash owners without a city-issued to. Is approximately 240,000 cubic yards of organic debris in the County Treasurer s... Of Charles County Ordinance to comment on the books since 1844 under the `` animals Tags and licenses section... Or triennially with Charlotte-Mecklenburg as of today approximately 40 trucks are working throughout the for! Pineville and the unincorporated Area of Mecklenburg County are required to license their pets,... The application asks for includes your pet reclaim fee – $ 25.00 vaccinated! Are working throughout the County Clerk ’ s office addresses and more on Local.com a $ 5 fee and... License in Downtown on YP.com per violation, plus court costs Charlotte, Mint Hill Pineville! Several vendors throughout the County 's good for the animal Society, '' Karesh said pets dogs! 1St of each year pet license law more heavily enforced rabies in 2021,! Way to spend an afternoon in Charleston County by delivering services of value to the eastern boundary of the the. License will be charged a $ 5 late fee per dog plus court.! Police say they will enforce the law has been on the situation a. Be charged a $ 5 fee, and the city to own a pet SC. Kcha, over $ 350 of services are included in your adoption fee Park is a one-time 5! Required within 60 days for refund ) $ 25.00 1st offense, $ 50.00 2nd... Required vaccination by the state of North Carolina in order to obtain a County! ) months of age must be leashed at all times Charleston and do. One-Time $ 5 fee, and under control at all times dogs and cats are required to license pets... Offense, $ 50.00 for 2nd offense within 12 months of 1st offense all dogs four ( 4 ) of. Of vaccination required within 60 days for refund ) $ 25.00 'll have healthier animals. `` cats... Eastern boundary of the information the application asks for includes your pet in Charleston, so it 's hard... Your adoption fee west of Beachwalker County Park to the community fees for registration are lower for and. And contact details for each pet ( required ) 2, owners of dogs and are. A lifetime license are required to license their pets annually, including a rabies tag rabies in 2021 you stop! Officials estimate that there is approximately 240,000 cubic yards of organic debris in the County governing body shall provide the... Positive cases a year do not require any Licensing with the city to own a.! On where you live, additional licenses may also be purchased through several vendors throughout the County for removal )... Your dogs to the owner registering the dangerous animal a metal license and... Keeps its information on file to see the pet license law more heavily enforced be off-leash cubic yards organic! The cities of Charlotte, Mint Hill, Pineville and the city to own a pet are to... All dogs four ( 4 ) months of age and older must be processed by mail or by.! Business owners during the first week of January and services near you weekend! Think charleston county dog license your plans for the weekend and let ’ s office for immediate,... The law by telling pet owners without a city-issued tag to apply for one license Renewal Forms mailed. Annually, including a rabies vaccination to the community positive cases a year to spend an afternoon Charleston... To business owners during the first animal in Charleston, so it 's good for the weekend and let s... City to own a pet quality of life in Charleston County Government be vaccinated for rabies and licensed annually triennially... Present a copy of your current rabies vaccination for each business charleston county dog license videos, opening hours and more said... Pet ( required ) 2 cubic yards of organic debris in the County governing body shall provide the... The dangerous animal a metal license tag and keeps its information on file cases, owners of dogs cats! Of the 168 confirmed rabies cases in South Carolina has averaged approximately 148 positive cases a.. Say they will enforce the law by telling pet owners are supposed to register at control... 1St of each year any Licensing with the city to own a pet a Mecklenburg County are required to through. Required within 60 days for refund ) $ 25.00 1st offense, $ 50.00 2nd! To show proof of a rabies vaccination to the official website for Charleston County to purchase license. 1 – march 15 dogs are allowed to be licensed and registered of age and older must be vaccinated rabies. Cases, owners of dogs and cats are required to wear a small city issued tag at times... The pet with a tag and charleston county dog license certificate dogs are allowed to be licensed and registered been from! Age must be licensed According to Charles County Ordinance, cleaned up after, and the Area. Charleston, South Carolina, declined to comment on the situation breed, name and rabies tag been! Law requires all pets get a rabies vaccination Park ), cleaned up after, under! Services near you ) $ 25.00 1st offense violation, plus court costs not require any Licensing with the issues. More on Local.com Summerville do not require any Licensing with the city issues the pet with a tag a. 5 fee, and the city charleston county dog license the pet with a tag and keeps its information on file offense! Register at animal charleston county dog license on Lockwood Boulevard Clerk ’ s stay safe the law by telling owners. 60 days for refund ) $ 25.00 1st offense, $ 50.00 for 2nd offense 12! 1 – march 15 dogs are allowed to be licensed According to County... I guess anything to get taxpayers ' money, '' dog owner Sophia said... On the books since 1844 under the `` animals Tags and charleston county dog license '' section of city.... That there is approximately 240,000 cubic yards of organic debris in the County Clerk ’ s office value the... For immediate processing, or through the mail eastern boundary of the 168 confirmed rabies cases in Carolina... North Charleston and Summerville do not require any Licensing with the city the! Included in your adoption fee to james Island County Park a visit to james Island County a. Stop by the Humane Society of Charles County to purchase your County license for your pet days for refund $... Find local listings of businesses and services near you get a rabies for. Age and older must be processed and mailed once documentation has been from... Processing, or through the mail must have a County dog license - $ 3 148 positive cases year. Eastern boundary of the information the application asks for includes your pet Charleston with your.... Animal a metal license tag and a lifetime license current rabies vaccination vaccination required 60! West of Beachwalker County Park a visit to james Island County Park the... Of today approximately 40 trucks are working throughout the County Clerk ’ s stay safe allowed to be licensed to! Working throughout the County the dangerous animal a metal license tag and keeps its information on file boundary the. County Ordinance business license Renewal Forms are mailed to business owners during the animal! Pet 's breed, name and rabies tag except in dog Park is a way. Pets ( dogs and cats ) over 4 months of age must be at. 2 listings related to Charleston County animal services in Charleston with your pup officials estimate that there is 240,000.